Supervisory Board

  • zoom+
  • zoom-

Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board of Axel Springer SE is composed of nine members, who are elected by the shareholders present and represented at the annual shareholders’ meeting. The term of office of Supervisory Board members is five years. At the end of their terms, they are eligible for reelection. The Chairman of the Supervisory Board is elected by its members.

The Supervisory Board is composed of the following members:

Dr. Giuseppe Vita


Dr. h. c. Friede Springer

Vice Chairwoman

Oliver Heine

Attorney at law and partner of the law firm Heine & Partner

Dr. Alexander Karp

CEO Palantir Technologies Inc.

Iris Knobloch

Président Warner Bros. France S.A.

Lothar Lanz

Member of several Supervisory Boards

Dr. Nicola Leibinger-Kammüller

Chairwoman of the managing directors of TRUMPF GmbH + Co. KG

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Reitzle


Martin Varsavsky


Tasks of the Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board appoints the members of the Executive Board. It supervises and advises the Executive Board on the management of the company’s business. Important decisions of the Executive Board require the approval of the Supervisory Board.

The Supervisory Board adopts the annual financial statements of Axel Springer SE and approves the consolidated financial statements of the Axel Springer Group. The Supervisory Board usually meets fives times a year.

You may find more interesting information here

Corporate Governnance