The Supervisory Board

  • zoom+
  • zoom-

The Supervisory Board

As per the company's Articles of Association, the Supervisory Board of Axel Springer SE is composed of nine members, who are elected by the annual shareholders' meeting. The regular term of office of Supervisory Board members is five years; they are eligible for re-election at the end of their terms. The Supervisory Board elects its Chairman from among its own ranks; the term of office of the Supervisory Board Chairman coincide with that of the Supervisory Board.

The Supervisory Board advises the Executive Board and monitors the work of the Executive Board. It holds at least four meetings a year. In case of necessity, it meets without the Executive Board in attendance. Meetings may be held and resolutions adopted also by way of written correspondence, telephone calls, faxes, or electronic media.

As a general rule, the Supervisory Board adopts resolutions by a simple majority of the members voting on the resolution; in case of a tie, the Chairman casts the deciding vote. The Supervisory Board deliberates on the company's business developments, planning, strategy, and significant capital expenditures at regular intervals.

The Supervisory Board adopts the separate financial statements of Axel Springer SE and approves the consolidated financial statements of the Group. It regularly assesses the efficiency of its work. Please refer to the report of the Supervisory Board for additional information on the specific activities of the Supervisory Board in financial year 2017.

The members of the Supervisory Board are:

The terms of office of the current members of the Supervisory Board will end at the conclusion of the regular annual shareholders' meeting in 2019.